History of belvoir
Surrounded by the Thames River, Belvoir is the oldest farm in South Western Ontario, Canada. Nestled on more than 316 acres, the estate is 10 km west of London, Ontario.
It was originally owned by settler Ebenezer Allan, who arrived in Delaware in 1793 from Rochester, New York.
In 1840, the farm was known as Maple Grove and the main house on the Estate was built by Gideon Tiffany. It was referred to by the locals as “Tiffany’s Castle”.
In 1857 Gideon’s son, Dean Tiffany, commissioned architect Thomas Stent the notable designer and builder of the East Wing of the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa to redesign and rebuild this grand and historic home.
In 1880 the estate was purchased by Richard Albert Gibson who was appointed to the Ontario Agricultural Commission in 1880. He renamed the property Belvoir, after a castle near his birthplace in Rutland, England. Belvoir became the leading producer of Jersey Milk for the London area.
In 1922 Gibson's son-in-law, Canadian Senator Edgar Sydney Little and his wife Helen moved their family to Belvoir.
Members of parliament of that time, including Prime Minister MacKenzie King, were royally entertained in their stately home. After the death of Senator Little, the farm was sold to the Brotherhood of the Scared Heart.
In 1986 the property was purchased by Terrence and Maureen Pocock. During this time,
In 2017 Stan Fisher and his wife Ute Lawrence, Founder/CEO of the PTSD Association of Canada purchased Belvoir Estate Farm.